Guinness beef stew

Another Guinness recipe? yes.

Why? well, because when it comes to beer I am famous for not being capable of resisting offers at supermarkets. I almost injured my already poorly shoulder dragging as much cans of Guinness as I could from my local supermarket to home and ok, I can drink it, but why not cooking with it too? After all, what is the purpose of writing a review of one of the most famous stout in the whole world?

Why a beef stew? On St Patrick’s day my office’s canteen had a pretty much Irish-themed menu and Guinness beef stew was the main item on it. Now, I am not a huge fan of meat in general and beef in particular. Unless beef is extremely tender, without any trace of fat whatsoever and top quality, I won’t eat it. I am extremely fussy about it. But hey, the smell was divine and I decided to try it. It literally blew me away. Half-way through my lunch, I texted my husband something like “I’m SO going to do this recipe at home and nothing will stop me”.

So…here it is

Ingredient for 2 / 3 portions

  • 400g lean diced beef
  • 3 carrots, diced
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 big potato, diced
  • 1 can of Guinness (circa 440ml)
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • pinch of black pepper and salt

It took me a while to crack this recipe – again, I don’t generally cook meat at home and definitely I don’t do stews!

The secret of success is very simple: M A R I N A D E. Yes. I know that this means it will takes ages to make it, but trust me, if you want tender meat that it is the only way forward (I din’t marinade it the first time and the meat came out ROCK HARD).

SFullSizeRender (1)o, take a big bowl and put all the ingredients in; give it a gentle stir (I used my hands) and make sure that everything is nicely resting in a lovely Guinness bath.Cover with cling film and leave it in the fridge for at least 8 hours, though overnight would be best.

When you are ready to cook, pre-heat the oven at Gas Mark 6. Grab a nice casserole (or one of those aluminium trays that you throw away once you finished cooking) and pour your ingredients into it. Put your tray in the oven and cook for around 20 minutes or until the beer starts to bubble; lower the heath to Gas Mark 4 and cook for 2 1/2 hours, but check here and then that there is enough juice to cover your meat (you don’t want it to get dry). Add water (or more Guinness if you have it) if you need to.

Before you take it our from the oven and serve, here is a little trick to make your gravy. When my husband will read this, he will have an heart attack for sure (when you marry a chef, you don’t want to tell him how you do things, trust me) BUT if you cannot be arsed to do it the proper way, this is the way to get your juices to thicken into gravy without the hassle of separating meat & veggies from juices, sticking juices into a pan, warm them up with some flour, re-add your meat & veggies then serve. Once you are around 10 minutes before your timer will alert you that your stew is cooked, open the over and gently take the casserole / tray out. Grab one and a half table spoons of flour, sifted, and add it into your stew. Give it a good stir, ensuring that you do not end up with lumps, then stick everything back in the oven. Give it a stir here and then and you’ll see your juices turning into gravy like magic.

Husband, if you are reading it: yes, this is how I thickened my sauce and no, you cannot report me to the police for crimes against cooking.

Let the stew rest for couple of minutes then serve it with a classic potato puree.

IMG_8049

Variations: you can add parsley and celery too if you want. I didn’t do it because I don’t like them, simple as that. Also, you can add more spices like bay leaves if you fancy, just be VERY careful if you want to add beef stock. I did it, I screwed with quantities and I ended up with a disaster!

Leave a Reply

