Trooper Drunk Bacon Joint

I am super guilty of being absolutely, without any shadow of a doubt or defence, totally and unjustifiably LAZY. Yes. Lazy. I also had a sort of “recipe-creating block”, but most and foremost I have been lazy, leaving my blog to rot. However, fear not for I have a brand new recipe here that I hope will make you forgive my absence.

I know I already used Trooper Beer. The fact is, I wanted to create something with that outstanding gem that is “Dizzy Blonde” zesty Ale from the fantastic Robinsons Brewery. I even made a funny picture of the Dizzy Blonde bottle together with a Trooper bottle, claiming that Eddie was now in a relationship.

 

image
Enter a caption

Problem is, as soon as I opened it, I decided to give it a taste. Then another one. And another one (“I can always reduce quantities!”). Before I realised, I basically drank the whole thing and goodbye recipe. I also left poor Eddie alone, heartbroken and back in his solitary confinement in the fridge.

I had to do something about it. Poor Eddie did not deserve that. So, I bought a nice piece of bacon joint and I decided to roast it in a lovely Trooper Beer bath. It magically worked!

 

image

Ingredients (serve approx 3 people):

  • 900g smoked bacon joint
  • 500 ml Trooper beer (or another Ale)
  • 2 heaped tsp Dijon mustard
  • 3 tbsp. golden syrup
  • salt & pepper to taste

Got to love a good roast. They are dead easy to make: put everything into a tray, mix, rub, mix again, add spices and flavours, pop in the over, forget it for couple of hours, done. These are my kind of recipes: effortless and with an excellent result guaranteed every single time. This recipe is no different.

Pre-heat the oven at Gas Mark 5. Into a bowl, pour 3/4 of the beer, then add the mustard and the golden syrup. Whisk gently and try to combine everything together. On a side, place your bacon joint over a slicing board and score a grid-like pattern into it. Don’t go too deep with your scoring, half a centimetre will do.

Place your joint into a tray. Don’t place it into a huge one or you’ll need double the quantities of beer, mustard and golden syrup to make it work. Pour some beer into it, then place the bacon joint in the middle and then pour the content of your bowl over it: half of your bacon joint should be covered in this beer-bath, so don’t use a huge tray. Give the bacon joint a good massage with your hands then pop in the oven for 50 minutes, covering the tray with some kitchen foil.

After 50 minutes, take the kitchen foil off, heat the oven at Gas Mark 6 and let it cook for another 2, 2 1/2 hours or till the joint is nice roasted and when you cut it through th meat is thoroughly cooked; the only thing you need to ensure is that there is always enough juice into the tray whilst it cookes, and you may want to pour some of it over the bacon joint to keep it moist from time to time.

Serve it with tons of lovely roasted veggies and, if you want to turn the leftover juice into a gravy, pour them into a pan with a little bit of cornflour and let it reduce to your preferred consistency.

Leave a Reply

